First World Problems

Now that my niece is born I’m super excited to share my favorite children’s books with her.  I really hope I get to spend enough time with her to pass on my love of books and reading.  Children’s books are some of my favorite books, and the genre as a whole is really rich and delicious and I enjoy it thoroughly.  Obviously I like the classics, the most basic learn-to-read books tend to bore me.  Because I’m a grown up and I already know how to read, so learning sight words isn’t really titillating to me at this point.  I’m seriously debating with myself as to what I’m going to read to her.  I’m super excited to share Where The Wild Things Are, since it’s one of my favorites–such ripe, simple words, such incredible illustrations–plus I just bought the movie; my terrible pronunciation isn’t going to stop me from reading her the French version of Le Petit Prince–the flow of words is incredible, the illustrations rough but fit the storyline perfectly, the quotes and themes will stay with you forever (Les hommes ont oublié cette vérité, dit le renard. Mais tu ne dois pas l’oublier. Tu deviens responsable pour toujours de ce que tu as apprivoisé.…..sigh).  I’ve got a fantastically illustrated version of Louisa May Alcott’s Fairy Stories that I’m excited to share (there are quotes hidden in literally every illustration–I’ve had the book for ten years and I still get lost in them every time I read the book) but I’m a little leery about the Grimm’s Brothers anthology that I also own.  On one hand, I’m pumped to provide her with a non-Disney-fied version of the tales, and hopefully put a little crack in the spell those movies tend to put on little girls (clearly, I’m not anti-Disney, but as a feminist it’s hard to hard-core love them).  From a literary perspective, they’re also pretty fantastic and I thoroughly enjoy them.  Essentially I just want to pass on my love of reading to my new, beautiful, fantastic, amazing niece, and I want to ensure that the books I choose to read to her are the books that will inspire that in her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sharing The Love

Leave a Reply

