Sex v Books

Do you ever feel like you’d rather read than have sex?  I’d say I’d take reading over sex at least 3 days out of 7, sometimes higher if the Giants aren’t playing well (i.e. lately). Don’t get me wrong, I love Max and I love sex, and I love having sex with Max.  But sometimes, he comes over when I worked all day, and I’m tired because my boss is a sociopath and my apartment needs to be cleaned and I don’t have any food because I hate grocery shopping and all I want to do is curl up and finish The Two Towers or lose myself in something I’ve read a thousand times before.  Sex is so much goddamn work, and reading is not.  Reading is like my mental resting place, where I recharge my batteries and reset myself mentally.  To me, reading is more relaxing than watching a movie or losing myself in a TV show, because I can move through the story at my own pace and read my favorite scenes over and over again.  It’s a place where I don’t feel like I have to do any work, where somebody’s imaginary friends do all the work for me.  So sometimes, after a long day or a devastating loss by the Giants, I want to take a mental vacation, not do more work.  Even if I know the payoff is amazing.  And will probably make me feel way more amazing than spending an hour tracking a Knight-Mage through his journey.  I guess I’m just fundamentally lazy.

Everyone probably thinks that I’m a raving nymphomaniac, that I have an insatiable sexual appetite, when the truth is I’d rather read a book

–Madonna

2 Comments

Filed under Introspection

2 responses to “Sex v Books

  1. Nice post and awesome quote. I had never seen that quote before from Madonna. Thanks for sharing =) I laughed quite a bit, but at times TOTALLY agree.

Leave a Reply

