Monday Night Poetry

To My Dear and Loving Husband

If ever two were one, then surely we.

If ever a man were lov’d by wife, then thee.

If ever wife was happy with a man,

Compare with me, ye woman, if you can.

I prize thy love more than whole Mines of gold

Or all the riches that the East does hold.

My love is such that Rivers cannot quench,

Nor ought but love from thee give recompense.

Thy love is such I can in no way repay.

The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.

That while we live, in love let’s so persever

That when we live no more, may we live ever.

-Anne Bradstreet

 

For my friend who’s struggling through grad school with Anne by her side 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Monday Night Poetry

2 responses to “Monday Night Poetry

  1. Kait

    LOVE LOVE LOVE! Thank you so much! ❤

Leave a Reply

