Childish

Still sans computer, so apologies for my erratic posting.  Gives me more time for reading, however, which: YAY!!  I’m in a children’s lit phase now–at least while I’m out of the house–and I’m loving finding the grown up perspective to books that are supposed to be for children.  It’s easy to forget while discussing children’s lit (especially in our think-of-the-children-hysterical culture), but these books are written by grown ups.  They’re written from an adult perspective, and by definition informed by the author’s feelings about chidlren–what they like, what they are like, what is appropriate for them (which changes from generation to generation).  I just finished The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, which is in many ways less deep than the movie version we all grew up with.  Oz isn’t a Wonderlandesque subconscious realm where a teenage Dorothy’s fears and character flaws come to light; it’s a real place you can “get to from here”, so to speak, and while it’s certainly a foil for the grey, grey, grey Kansas, it’s relatively separate from the “civilized” world–a place where a child (roughly 4-6, I think) has autonomy and power.  There’s apparently a pretty serious breakdown of the book that suggests it’s a parable for populism, so that’s been added to my TBR list, hopefully sooner rather than later.  In the meantime, I’m moving on to Peter Pan, a book whose author was obsessed with childhood, at least partially because of the untimely death of his older brother.  I’ve previously read it as part of  a Children’s Lit class in college, but I’m excited to dive in on my own.  Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under Sharing The Love

2 responses to “Childish

  1. miq

    I’ve always wanted to examine the Wizard of Oz books. There is supposed to be a ton of social commentary in them. One of these days I’ll reread them and figure it all out 🙂

Leave a Reply

