Fantasiessss

anigif_enhanced-buzz-32744-1378756696-2_preview

So, I’ve mentioned a time or two before that I’ve been pretty heavily invested in the fantasy genre as of late (meaning, like, at least the last two or three years?).  I’ve read Harry Potter more times than I can count. I’ve gone deep enough into LOTR to read The Silmarillion.  I’m almost caught up with Game of Thrones, but I feel like I’ve lost track of the characters.  I’ve done The Inheritance Trilogy and the Circle of Magic and The Enchanted Forest Chronicles and The Daughters of the Moon and The Hunger Games and probably a few more I’m forgetting .  My favorite series of all time is The Wheel of Time.  So, yeah, I’m into fantasy.  Just a little.  Sci Fi, too (haaay, DS9!!) but more so fantasy.  

It isn’t the magic and the mystery and all the things that simply aren’t in our world.  Or, at least, not entirely.  Obviously, those things are sweet and anybody who tells you that reading about someone who can ride a dragon or make a sword of fire out of his or her mind is boring is obviously an idiot.  But that isn’t really what’s attractive – at least to me – about these stories.  What draws me to them is the scale, the scope.  Very, very rarely do these stories deal with the mundane, day to day realities of living in a world in which dragon dung and magical swords cause everyday sorts of chaos.  These characters aren’t drained because they worked at their jobs and took care of their families and their homes and it’s just been a really rough week, OK?  They’re drained because the fate of many rests on their shoulders, because the world may live or die by how pure they manage to be.  

Obviously, I’m not saying that I want the world to end or that I want it to be in danger of ending based entirely on choices that I or my friends may make.  That’s a lot of responsiblity and I really don’t think we’re ready for it (I also don’t think we’re ready for mortgages and children and such, but here we are).  But sometimes it’s nice to  imagine that all the shenanigans that we deal with on a day-to-day basis can fade into the background as we all turn our focus on something much, much bigger.


Also, I mean, come on.  There’s magic.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fantasiessss

  1. Pingback: The Sacrifices of Parenting | iwantbelleslibrary

Leave a Reply

