Ronald

Oh, Ronald.  You are…just my favorite (I say that about every single character, don’t I?  Don’t tell them I’m cheating!)  You are just the most real, refreshingly normal teenage boy I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting in a book.  Ugh.  Where to begin with the reasons I love you?

1) You have a complicated, REAL reaction to your best friend being super famous and needing to deal with all the shenanigans that comes along with that.  Rowling created a character who doesn’t incessantly talk about his feelings – because, after all, he’s a teenage boy – but is clearly struggling with being jealous of the attention Harry gets, while also wanting to be supportive of what he’s going through.

2) Ron is one of the perfect examples of how the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.  It would have been really easy and expected for Rowling to make the Weasleys a really perfect famly to contrast with Harry’s home life with the Dursleys.  And in some ways, it is – they’re all full of love and acceptance and really adopt Harry and become his magical family (and later in-laws, yay!).  But they struggle financially in a way that Harry never has to, and Ron struggles to stand out – in the first book, what he sees in the Mirror of Erised is him outshining all of his brothers.  That’s not the mark of an idyllic family – it’s reality.

3) I freaking adore the way he becomes a magical guide to Harry – and Hermione.  I think it was a really smart way for Rowling to deal with both Harry & the reader entering this brand new world – instead of some sort of boring exposition disguised as a book or a sermon from some older wiser character, she shows the real-life friction that comes from not knowing things that someone close to you takes for granted, and how weird and awkward it is to have to have your best friend explain things to you.

4) All of the Weasleys are ginger!  Yay ginger pride!

Seriously, I could go on for days about how much I love Ron but it would really just be repetition – I love how realistic he is as a teenage boy, I love his language and his mood swings, I just love him.  I want to cuddle him and be his platonic wife.  Is that weird?  Don’t answer that – I don’t care.

3 Comments

Filed under Harry Potter

3 responses to “Ronald

  1. Ron deserves more credit than he gets.

  2. Pingback: George. Fred. | iwantbelleslibrary

Leave a Reply

